History, which was created by the British in 1858, is named after its headquarters town. Tradition has it that the town was founded by the Bhars and was known as Bharauli or Barauli which in course of time got corrupted into Bareli. The prefix, Rae, is said to be a corruption of Rahi, a village 5km. west of the town. It is also said that the prefix, Rae, represents Rae, the common title of the Kayasths who were masters of the town for a considerable period of time. Since about the begining of the media level period of indian history the region in the south of which the area covered by the district of Raebareli lies has been known as avadh or subhah of avadh.....Read More

Raebareli History - Geography

Article Index
Raebareli History
All Pages


The district is irregular in shape but fairly compact. It forms a part of the lucknow Division and lies between Latitude 25° 49' North and 26° 36' North and Longitude 100° 41' East and 81° 34' East. On the North it is bounded by tehsil mohanlal ganj of district Lucknow and tehsil haider gargh of district Barabanki, on the east by tehsil Mussafir Khana of district Sultanpur and on the south east by pargana Ateha and the Kunda tehsil of district Pratap Gargh. The southern boundary is formed by the Ganga which separates it from the district of Fateh pur. On the west lies the purwa tehsil of district Unnao.


Acoording to the 1991 census the area of the district was 4,609 sq. km. The area is liable to vary every year by reason of the action of the Ganga, for a small variation in the deep stream of the river makes a very noticable change in the area of the district, which occupies the thirty fourth place in size among the districts of the State


The district,as a whole, is fairly compact tract of gently undulating land. The elevation varies from about 120.4 m. above sea level in the north west to 86.9 m. above sea level in the extereme south east, on the banks of the Ganga. The hightest points are the crowns of the watersheds of the different drainage channel which serve to divide the district into five main physical units, The ganga Khadar, the ganag upland, the southern clay tract, the central tract or the sai upland and the Northern clay tarct


The district is drainned by the ganga, the sai and their tributeries althrough some of them join the main straem after passing the confines of the district


The ganga, which is the only river of any magnitude in the district touches it near the villages of Gadumau in the extereme west of pargana Sareni in the tehsil Dalmau and, forming the southern boundary of the district, runs south east as far as village Barua


This is large stream which rises in the district of Unnao and enters Raebareli near Semari in the west of pargana Khiroon. CHOB This stream rises on the southern side of the Itaura Bujurg watershed


This is a small stream which rises in the swamps of pargana Dalmau near Aihar. It runs southward in the tortuous course for several killometers to the west of dalmau


This river, which is a teritory of the Gomti, rises in the Hardoi district and for a considerable portion of its course separates the districts of Lucknow and Unnao. Bending south and passing to the west of the town of Raebareli, it turns east, striking the southern border of the old catonment in the city. It passes out Raebareli at village kanhpur in pargana Salon. The total course of the river in the district is about 100 kms.in length. The banks of sai are and in many places precipitous


This stream rises in the north east of village Johwa sarkiin tehsil Raebareli, near the southern boundary of pargana Bachhrawan.

This stream rises in the jhil tract of pargana Kumharawn in the north of the district and takes a winding course generally in the southerly direction.

This stream, also known as only naiya, Rises on the confines of the Mohanlal ganj and Rokha jais pargana & flows south past the village of Nasirabad, after which it is named.

This steram takes it origin in a series of swamps in pargana Khiron. Like the other streams, it is dry during the hot weather, but in the rainy season it assumes rather formidable proportion.

It is small stream which has its origin in the lakes in the south of pargana Maurawan in the district Unnao.

In northern part of the district there is a small stream known asthe Semrauta Naiya, a teritory of the Gomti. It forms the boundary between parganasamrauta on the west and pargana Inhauna on the east.

Site Search

Latest News

This is the Left module position, which is using the hilite5 module class suffix.

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Donec sit amet nibh. Vivamus non arcu.


Feroze Gandhi (12 August 1912 – 8 September 1960) was an Indian politician and journalist. He was a member of the Lok Sabha, the Lower House of India's parliament. In 1942 he married Indira Nehru (later Prime Minister of India) and they had two sons Rajiv Gandhi (also later a Prime Minister) and Sanjay Gandhi.Feroze Gandhi was born in Mumbai into a Parsi family. He was the son of Jehangir Gandhi and Ratimai.[3][4] He was not related to Mahatma Gandhi family, and it was said that he changed his surname from Gandy to Gandhi.
Read More



Indira Priyadarshini Gandhi : (19 November 1917 – 31 October 1984) was the Prime Minister of the Republic of India for three consecutive terms from 1966 to 1977 and for a fourth term from 1980 until her assassination in 1984, a total of fifteen years. She was India's first and, to date, only female Prime Minister.Born in the politically influential Nehru Family, she grew up in an intensely political atmosphere. Her grandfather, Motilal Nehru, was a prominent Indian nationalist leader. Her father, Jawaharlal Nehru, was a pivotal figure in the Indian independence movement and the first Prime Minister of Independent India. Returning to India from Oxford in 1941, she became involved in the Indian Independence movement
Read More

Photo Video
Book Stamp



Sonia Gandhi President of the Indian National Congress and the widow of former Prime Minister of India Rajiv Gandhi. She also serves as the Chairperson of the ruling United Progressive Alliance in the Lok Sabha and the leader of the Congress Parliamentary Party.An influential person in Indian politics, she was named the third most powerful woman in the world by Forbes magazine in the year 2004 and was ranked 6th in 2007. She was also named among the Time 100 most influential people in the world for the years 2007 and 2008.
Read More

Photo Video



Daily Poll

How Do you Think About The Site?